Bidle and Gonzalez Receive 2021-2022 Faculty Year-End Excellence Awards

Kay Bidle (left) and Angelica Gonzalez (right)

By Carol Peters, EOAS Communications

The two are among only 31 faculty members across Rutgers University chosen by their colleagues to receive the prestigious year-end awards.

Kay Bidle (left) and Angelica Gonzalez (right)
Kay Bidle (left) and Angélica L. González (right)

Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, has named EOAS faculty members Kay D. Bidle and Angélica L. González recipients of two of the university’s 10 2021-22 Faculty Year-End Excellence Awards.

Bidle, Professor, Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, Rutgers University–New Brunswick, received the Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award. This award “honors tenured faculty members who have made outstanding synergistic contributions in research and teaching. This award recognizes those who make visible the vital link between teaching and scholarship by contributing to the scholarship of teaching and by bringing together scholarly and classroom activities.”

González, Associate Professor, Department of Biology, Faculty of Arts and Sciences–Camden, Rutgers University–Camden, received The Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence. This award recognizes “the exceptional research accomplishments of newly-promoted and tenured (as of July 1, 2022) faculty members.”

In an email to the Rutgers University community, President Jonathan Holloway wrote, “Executive Vice President Prabhas Moghe and I are pleased to announce the recipients . . . We do so with pride in the entire Rutgers faculty and with admiration and gratitude for the efforts of all our faculty members over the course of the academic year. The 31 individuals receiving these annual awards have been selected by their colleagues for outstanding contributions to teaching, research, and public service.”